Deleted Bookmarks and Emptied Trash - Help Recovering

  • Hello,

    I recently synchronized my Opera account with another computer. I deleted a lot of bookmarks from the new computer and forgot that this would synchronize with the original computer! I now lost the bookmarks on the original when it synchronized. I am wondering if it is possible to recover these. I looked in the folder but the .tmp file looks to be created after the synchronization wiped them out. If i reset the original computer to an earlier date, will it have those bookmarks (I do not have any other work on there that needs saving from the past few days).

    Thank you!

  • You can check if Bookmarks.bak still has your old bookmarks.

    If i reset the original computer to an earlier date, will it have those bookmarks

    It may be a possibility too.

  • If you've got Windows shadow-copy enabled on that system, you may be able to pull up an earlier file version by right-clicking the current bookmarks file in Explorer, select the Previous Versions tab, and select one of the earlier versions that appears (if any), dated before the sync event.

  • Moral to story: using sync MAY be hazardous to your Opera's bookmarks health.

Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Opera forums was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.