I upgraded today v40 (Mac) and seems I cannot signin for sync. When I signin, the icon appears for 5 seconds in the menu then disappears, but preferences for sync shos that I am still not logged in .. still shows the "Sign in" button.
I would suggest not having this happen when selecting text in any form fields...this is the use case this causes the most annoyances (as pointed out, when you are selecting text in a form field, its almost always because you want to edit/delete it, not copy or search).
They didn't want to mess things up suddenly. If you go to Bookmarks you will see a section named "Other speed dials" where your other computers are listed so you can copy the speed dials as you wish.