Do more on the web, with a fast and secure browser!

Download Opera browser with:

  • built-in ad blocker
  • battery saver
  • free VPN
Download Opera

Erase History doesn't do what you hope

  • I was testing the effectiveness of clearing all history and have found what I consider a major failure.
    If you have visited a site, it would appear that Opera remembers it in terms of the autocomplete function. Even uninstalling and reinstalling from scratch doesn't make it forget.
    Also, the iconography is not explained anywhere I could find. The site I was testing with had a four squares icon at the left, which I thought meant it was on my home screen. But it isn't - as far as I can tell.

    It's all a bit creepy!

    Any ideas of browsers that do allow private browsing?

  • @thewinelake said in Erase History doesn't do what you hope:

    Any ideas of browsers that do allow private browsing?

    Opera.

  • @leocg That's what I thought. And I think it used to do that.

    Maybe I'm not explaining something right - I want to be able to completely eradicate my previous browsing, whether those session were in private or non-private mode. That doesn't seem to be possible.
    That reinstalling doesn't make the history go away properly makes me wonder where that information was stored - is in some .plist file somewhere that uninstallation doesn't remove (perhaps because it's shared with Chrome?) or is my history held online somewhere (indexed by what, I wonder?!)
    When I Google removing URL completions, it's hard as these things are constantly changing, but there are examples where they say there should be a x on the end of the line. This is where I'm baffled by the speed dial icon that appears on the left. It could be that speed dial items can't be forgotten unless they're removed from the list of speed dials, but AFAICT, I don't have any speed dials!

  • Hello @thewinelake.

    Both history (sites you've visited) and typed addresses (things you've typed into the address bar) are removed when you click Opera -> Clear Browsing Data... and select an appropriate time range at the top (by default it removes accesses from the last hour).

    If you have visited a site, it would appear that Opera remembers it in terms of the autocomplete function. Even uninstalling and reinstalling from scratch doesn't make it forget.

    As with other applications on Mac, Opera has a profile directory, which doesn't get removed when you remove the application itself. You can find it in $HOME/Library/Application Support/com.operasoftware.Opera, and you're free to remove it. This will remove all data that Opera has saved.

    And if you want to remember later where to find it, the directory is also listed in Opera's about screen, which you can access using Opera -> About Opera.

  • Why you just don't use only a private window?

  • @leocg Carelessness! And I guess sometimes things clicked from elsewhere (eg an email) don't automatically go into private. And sometimes it's not an issue of privacy, but that profile directory was the culprit. I'm surprised in a way that uninstalling doesn't give that option. Just Apple keeping things simple, I guess.