Do more on the web, with a fast and secure browser!

Download Opera browser with:

  • built-in ad blocker
  • battery saver
  • free VPN
Download Opera

Opera desktop icon disappeared after recent update

  • Re: Desktop Icons Dissapeared

    The instruction given for the previous query is no longer valid. I had a desktop icon until the recent update, and the Opera installation folder disappeared as well.
    My File Explorer system no longer shows a folder for Opera. The update apparently created a alternate folder - Opera autoupdate.
    Included in that folder: 1) a Crash reports folder; 2) a Programs Opera folder, which is empty; 3) a Programs Operaassistant folder which contains three applications for the assistant, as well as a fourth folder labeled Installing; and 4) an opera autoupdate log text item.
    There is nothing executable in that Opera Autoupdate folder beyond the browser assistant.
    Nowhere else is Opera represented in the system except for: Operasetup.exe - I have already loaded that. More than once.
    What I am trying to accomplish the old way is a desktop icon so I can open the browser itself. None of the past methods for creating a desktop icon are available from the Opera browser itself, and no installation folder exists after the recent update.
    I have many icons in the taskbar - it serves my work flow to have an icon on the desktop. What do you suggest, please? And thank you very much.

  • @coloradoleo Did you already try to uninstall Opera (make sure to not check the option to delete your data) and install it again?

  • @leocg thank you! I downloaded Opera twice to the laptop before posting last time... The icon on the taskbar still opens Opera. During install no offer to place desktop icon. Still no folder bearing an installation file... So I just want to make sure before proceeding, just in case ... Uninstall Opera frim Control Panel, and know that an option to Not Delete Data will appear as part of the uninstall?

  • @coloradoleo In the first uninstall screen there will be an option to delete your data. Don't select it unless you really want to start from zero.

Log in to reply