Do more on the web, with a fast and secure browser!

Download Opera browser with:

  • built-in ad blocker
  • battery saver
  • free VPN
Download Opera

Opera 26 updated to 27 even when about page said update checker is disabled.

  • I downgraded from Opera 27 to 26 due to the high cpu usage issues. I disabled the update checker by putting in a environment variable and checked in the help -> about to make sure it would not update, but today after closing and re-opening it has updated. I will lose my entire user profile and settings now when going back to v26 because they are not compatible with each other.

    Some requests:

    Proper disabling of updates. I use a limited 3G connection at home and don't want automatic updates.
    Please fix the CPU usage issue when opening new tabs, it makes the browser really slow.

  • From rafaelluik (April 2014)

    Link: [https://forums.opera.com/topic/2301/disabling-auto-updates-saving-certificates-displaying-full-url-and-grouping-tabs/38]

    "Go to Windows's System / Advanced System Settings, in the Advanced tab click the button to manage the Environment Variables and add one called "OPERA_AUTOUPDATE_DISABLED". Done."

    It helped me 🙂

    C

  • I have gone the extreme route and deleted the Opera updater program from my pc.

  • A little more detail on cr2004's comment. Just now going to try it on my PC.

    http://blogs.opera.com/desktop/2014/03/opera-developer-22/#comment-1316232376

  • I confirm OPERA_AUTOUPDATE_DISABLED can't stop auto-updates from happening by itself anymore.

    If you really want to stop the auto-updates try this:

    • Set the OPERA_AUTOUPDATE_DISABLED environment variable, you still need it to prevent Opera attempt to auto-update when you run it.
    • Search for the Windows' task scheduler, it's a Control panel item.
    • You should see a list where one of the items is "Opera scheduled Autoupdate (...)", right-click it and select disable.

    But please don't do that if you aren't dependent on a feature that has been changed or removed in the latest versions. If you absolutely must do this, don't forget to check info about new versions once in a while, they contain security updates and will give the best compatibility with websites, the system, etc.