Confirm exit option

  • OK, here is my usecase:

    I was posting a news to the website of the school where I teach. It is an old e107 site, a lot of trouble, but I have to deal with it for the time being. It took me about half an hour to upload the images and write the post with the inserted thumbnails. I was about to finish, when I wanted to close one of the popup window containing one of the images, when I accidentally clicked to the close button of the main window. It was a custom size popup, its close button was just a slightly off to the close button of the main window. There was no auto-save on the site. You have no proper session restore. You can't imagine how angry I was, because it took me half an hour to create a simple post, then I had to start it over again, because you don't want to implement a simple feature like this.
    I asked this feature several times. I wrote usecases. But all for nothing, because you think it's too oldschool, or I don't know. DO IT!!!

  • +1

  • +1

  • This feature has my vote. Although some websites are foolproof to close accidentally using the 'beforeunload' event, it is an aggressive and generally unappreciated method. It would be great if Opera could save us from these embarrassing not to mention time-consuming moments in the future.

  • It's a wonder this hasn't been implemented yet.

    The "close" button is by the "open tabs", "minimize", "windowed" and "synchronization" buttons, as well as any nearby extension icons.

    There's nothing more frustrating than misclicking it and losing an entire window full of tabs, all because Opera's settings don't include an opt-in prompt for confirming whether or not someone really intends to nuke their current window.

Log in to reply
 

Looks like your connection to Opera forums was lost, please wait while we try to reconnect.