New Opera Forums launching soon!
Discussion thread

General Opera for Windows Question and Answer Thread

leocg
leocg

13248 posts

  • Moderator
  • 10000 posts

Want to ask something about Opera but don't want to create a topic just for it or can't find a related one? Now you can ask your (objective) question here in this topic and others will do their best to try to give you an answer.

The most frequently asked ones may be included in the Opera for Windows F.A.Q

In order to keep this working, please:

  • Try to make objective questions about Opera for Windows
  • Try to give objective answers
  • Do not post opinions, suggestions, requests, etc. Post only questions and/or answers

Enjoy!

90 Replies - 2338 Views

jweg79
0 0
jweg79

1 posts

    Since downloading Opera on Windows 10 I've noticed a persistently weird behaviour - when it crashes the MOZILLA FIREFOX crash reporter opens up, instead, though both Opera and the Opera crash reporter show up in the Task Manager as still open (just not on screen).

    Firefox was not running at the time, not even as a program listed in the Task Manager but not on-screen, either.

    Any idea what's causing this?

    It's not affecting my use of either browser. It's just really strange.

    kristal1961
    0 0
    kristal1961

    1 posts

      When I close Opera all my extensions are removed.

      [Deleted User]
      0 0
      Pirate

      0 posts

        I have developed a problem over the past 2 or 3 weeks regarding Opera Mail (sorry, I cannot find a forum specific to mail). When I attempt to open Opera Mail, I get the following error and the program then asks about sending an error log to technical people (I have), then the program asks if I want to restart or close. I pick restart, and the error repeats itself. I cannot access the program at all anymore. Any ideas?:

        OPERA-CRASHLOG V1 desktop 1.0 1044 windows OperaMail.exe 1044 caused exception C0000094 at address 59D59225 (Base: 230000)

        Registers: EAX=00000000 EBX=FFFFFFFA ECX=FFFFFFFC EDX=00000000 ESI=05008400 EDI=04A96DCC EBP=00AFDA08 ESP=00AFD9E0 EIP=59D59225 FLAGS=00210206 CS=0023 DS=002B SS=002B ES=002B FS=0053 GS=002B FPU stack: 0000000000000000401D 401D8000000000000000 8000000000000000C01D C01D8000000000000000 88888888888888000000 00000000000000000000 F0F0F0F0F0F0F0003FFE 3FFED7D7D7D7D7D7D800 SW=0022 CW=027F

        Stack dump: ......snip...........

        leeflo
        0 0
        leeflo

        2 posts

          Running Opera 47 with Windows 7. While browsing, I have tabs popping up for dating, sex and brides and other offers. I immediately ran a full virus scan with ZoneAlarm (with the latest updates) and it keeps happening. I don't know if this is an Opera or Windows thing. Anyone have advice on what I can do to stop this short of reinstalling windows and Opera?

          sgunhouse
          0 0
          sgunhouse

          3873 posts

          • Moderator
          • Server monkey
          • 2000 posts

          It is not something built-in to Opera, as I haven't seen it. Whether there might be some bad extensions available I couldn't say. I only have two extensions installed - Bookmarks by the side (no longer very useful though) and Gismeteo weather for speed dial.

          Opera's pop-up blocker should mean they are not coming from web pages - if you haven't disabled the pop-up blocker. Which leaves adware on your system as the most likely cause. An antivirus program may not identify adware, you should download some anti-adware program like Ad-Aware and see what it finds.

          joshl
          0 0
          joshl

          3747 posts

          • Server monkey
          • 2000 posts

          When I close Opera all my extensions are removed.

          I remember seeing a thread about such a problem not too long ago. If you can't find it with the search or otherwise, it'd be better if you start a specific thread about your problem: it seems we might need to know your system configuration etc. It's not common to lose such data that way, so...

          pauluspaulus
          1 0
          pauluspaulus

          1 posts

            I am using the latest version ofOpera Mail. E-mails that I delete permanently keep on "coming babk to life" again and reappear

            What is the remedy?

            leocg
            0 0
            leocg

            13248 posts

            • Moderator
            • 10000 posts

            What is the remedy?

            Well, this topic is not exactly for questions about Opera Mail. It would be better to open a topic to ask your question.

            makesownweather
            0 0
            makesownweather

            15 posts

            • Server monkey

            I have been using You tube for years downloading from opera. For the last several weeks (maybe since last update - now on 47) there are NO BUTTONS in You Tube for downloading. I restarted Opera and ire-installed Opera with no luck. I have extensions loaded and enabled. What do do about this?

            finestby
            0 0
            finestby

            1 posts

              Why when I try to Delete a bookmark that does not fit on the bookmarks toolbar, it fails, Opera goes in the Express panel?! ((( sreen: http://i12.pixs.ru/storage/6/2/8/Bezimyanni_8660959_27708628.png

              verybatman
              0 0
              verybatman

              5 posts

                Where is the "Cast" button in 48.0.2685.32?

                leocg
                0 0
                leocg

                13248 posts

                • Moderator
                • 10000 posts

                Where is the "Cast" button in 48.0.2685.32?

                There isn't one. They are waiting for a license from Google to be able to use Chromecast.

                davehawley
                0 0
                davehawley

                1271 posts

                • Server monkey
                • 1000 posts

                I am using the latest version ofOpera Mail. E-mails that I delete permanently keep on "coming babk to life" again and reappear What is the remedy?

                The obvious answer is that you have Opera Mail set to leave the messages on the server and it's re-downloading them every time. Set it to delete them from the server when you download them.
                :)

                sgunhouse
                1 0
                sgunhouse

                3873 posts

                • Moderator
                • Server monkey
                • 2000 posts


                I am using the latest version ofOpera Mail. E-mails that I delete permanently keep on "coming babk to life" again and reappear What is the remedy?

                The obvious answer is that you have Opera Mail set to leave the messages on the server and it's re-downloading them every time. Set it to delete them from the server when you download them.

                Or the server is not configured to allow deleting from a client (we used to have that issue with Gmail all the time).

                forgodsakes
                0 0
                forgodsakes

                3 posts

                  Hello Opera Community.

                  I hope I am posting this in the correct location. I have searched and search and cannot seem to find an answer to this... but I'm not even sure I am using the right terms..

                  How can I increase the font size in Opera's dialogue box that opens when you >RIGHT CLICK<?

                  Note: I am NOT talking about increasing WEBSITE FONT.. RIGHT CLICK and the window that opens for things like "Spell Check", "Copy/Paste", "open link in new tab"...etc. How do I make THAT font larger?

                  Windows 7 Opera Version: 48.0.2685.35 (PGO) - Opera is up to date

                  My monitor is a 60" TV and I use a wireless keyboard and mouse.. but the TV/computer is on the other side of the room.. anytime I try to correct spelling or cut/copy..of any of the other myriad of things contained in that dialogue box.. it is a bit of a challenge.

                  Thank you so much for your time.

                  sgunhouse
                  0 0
                  sgunhouse

                  3873 posts

                  • Moderator
                  • Server monkey
                  • 2000 posts

                  That is a menu. It should be the same size as any other menu.

                  forgodsakes
                  0 0
                  forgodsakes

                  3 posts

                    Thank you for your response sgunhouse.

                    Any suggestions on how to change the font size in the MENU? I would like to make the menu fonts larger.

                    leocg
                    0 0
                    leocg

                    13248 posts

                    • Moderator
                    • 10000 posts

                    Any suggestions on how to change the font size in the MENU?

                    You can't. You can try change Windows DPI and/or font size.

                    ojohnnydee
                    0 0
                    ojohnnydee

                    3 posts

                      i visit the site

                      https://www.popsci.com/cleaning-with-bleach-might-increase-your-chance-getting-copd-how-worried-should-you-be?con=TrueAnthem&dom=fb&src=SOC&utmcampaign&utmcontent=59e1f66a3ed3f00007bfae8a&utmmedium&utmsource

                      and the annoying 'share' buttons obscure the text.

                      windows 10, 48.0.2685.39 (PGO) - Opera is up to date Update stream: Stable System: Windows 10 64-bit (WoW64)

                      how to fix this?

                      leocg
                      0 0
                      leocg

                      13248 posts

                      • Moderator
                      • 10000 posts

                      and the annoying 'share' buttons obscure the text.

                      I don't see it here.

                      ojohnnydee
                      0 0
                      ojohnnydee

                      3 posts

                        it is inconsistent in dsiplay tho - i have 2 tabs open now, 1 i follwo the link i posted above, and one i follow from popsci on facebook. the latter is the onne with the obscuring share buttons.

                        ojohnnydee
                        0 0
                        ojohnnydee

                        3 posts

                          the link i pasted in above post https://www.popsci.com/cleaning-with-bleach-might-increase-your-chance-getting-copd-how-worried-should-you-be?con=TrueAnthem&dom=fb&src=SOC&utm

                          is the link truncated by this forum.

                          if you copy & paste the whole link i pasted, it gets the page i see.

                          mobile1000
                          0 0
                          mobile1000

                          3 posts

                            How can one add a bookmark on the toolbar?

                            leocg
                            0 0
                            leocg

                            13248 posts

                            • Moderator
                            • 10000 posts

                            How can one add a bookmark on the toolbar?

                            You mean the bookmark's bar?

                            glenrobrts
                            0 0
                            glenrobrts

                            1 posts

                              I have been using Chrome for my browser. I installed Opera and went to Google.com and signed into my google account so I could check my email. All of a sudden all of my Chrome settings and bookmarks were applied to Opera without me telling Opera to import anything.

                              leocg
                              0 0
                              leocg

                              13248 posts

                              • Moderator
                              • 10000 posts

                              I have been using Chrome for my browser. I installed Opera and went to Google.com and signed into my google account so I could check my email. All of a sudden all of my Chrome settings and bookmarks were applied to Opera without me telling Opera to import anything.

                              Although you didn't ask anything, I say that Opera import data from default browser doing installation.

                              rshooter
                              0 0
                              rshooter

                              2 posts

                                I use opera with VPN and it works quite well however it does not mask my ID from my Internet Provider. Is there a way?

                                Thanks

                                leocg
                                0 0
                                leocg

                                13248 posts

                                • Moderator
                                • 10000 posts

                                I use opera with VPN and it works quite well however it does not mask my ID from my Internet Provider. Is there a way?

                                ID?

                                rshooter
                                0 0
                                rshooter

                                2 posts

                                  SORRY I MEAN MY ADDRESS OR IDENTITY.

                                  leocg
                                  0 0
                                  leocg

                                  13248 posts

                                  • Moderator
                                  • 10000 posts

                                  SORRY I MEAN MY ADDRESS OR IDENTITY.

                                  You don't need to shout.

                                  What sites can see your real IP address? It's not exactly impossible for a site to know that you are using a VPN and also know your IP.

                                  rshooter
                                  1 0
                                  rshooter

                                  2 posts

                                    Sorry,I left cap lock on. I get notices from WOW the Internet Provider when I download a torrent movie. Somehow I am identified.

                                    leocg
                                    0 0
                                    leocg

                                    13248 posts

                                    • Moderator
                                    • 10000 posts

                                    I get notices from WOW the Internet Provider when I download a torrent movie

                                    Opera doesn't have a torrent client for its VPN to work on. Opera's VPN works only in Opera.

                                    blackbird71
                                    0 0
                                    Moon

                                    1754 posts

                                    • Server monkey
                                    • 1000 posts

                                    You should probably either install a VPN extension into Opera, or even a VPN proxy at the system level for a dedicated torrent browser to use, and download using that.

                                    erik1909hp
                                    0 0
                                    erik1909hp

                                    1 posts

                                      You can check this article to know What is an IP address and how to find them

                                      superdave
                                      0 0
                                      superdave

                                      3 posts

                                        I have Opera 48 on a Windows 7 Professional 64bit platform. I want to open PDF files in my default PDF reader. I have gone in to Advanced settings and checked the box to allow this, but I still get the Download pop-up rather than opening in my reader.

                                        It's getting quite annoying to have to download every PDF when 98% of the time, I just need to open it and read it. And, no, I don't want to open it in a web browser window.

                                        I have tried the various work-around methods suggested online, but no joy.

                                        Any info anyone can share as to how to simply open PDF's in my Foxit Reader? Works great on Firefox but not Opera and I really don't want to go back to Firefox.

                                        leocg
                                        0 0
                                        leocg

                                        13248 posts

                                        • Moderator
                                        • 10000 posts

                                        Any info anyone can share as to how to simply open PDF's in my Foxit Reader?

                                        Files will ever be downloaded. That option is to avoid using the PDF reader to display PDF files.

                                        superdave
                                        0 0
                                        superdave

                                        3 posts


                                          Any info anyone can share as to how to simply open PDF's in my Foxit Reader?

                                          Files will ever be downloaded. That option is to avoid using the PDF reader to display PDF files.

                                          I'm sorry, I don't understand.

                                          What "option is to avoid using the PDF reader to display PDF files?"

                                          Settings has a check box that says: "Open PDF files in the default PDF viewer application." I have the box checked but still only get the Download pop-up.

                                          Are you saying that Opera doesn't allow me to use my local PDF Reader and I can only Download them and then open them?

                                          leocg
                                          0 0
                                          leocg

                                          13248 posts

                                          • Moderator
                                          • 10000 posts

                                          What "option is to avoid using the PDF reader to display PDF files?"

                                          The one you've enabled in Settings.

                                          Settings has a check box that says: "Open PDF files in the default PDF viewer application." I have the box checked but still only get the Download pop-up.

                                          Like I said, files will always be downloaded, they can't be opened directly in a third part software. Don't know if there are any extensions that allow you to do it.

                                          Are you saying that Opera doesn't allow me to use my local PDF Reader and I can only Download them and then open them?

                                          Yes. Opera, Chrome, etc.

                                          superdave
                                          0 0
                                          superdave

                                          3 posts

                                            Okay, thanks.

                                            gofool
                                            0 0
                                            Moon

                                            6 posts

                                              Hi, I want to ask, why can't I save my login username/password on uTorrent remote website in Opera Window web browser? I tried login & logout many times still it doesn't show any sign of saving passwords let alone username but when I login with Opera Mini it immediately asks to save my login info.